‘Tis The Season To Bake Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

I’ll get to writing down a recipe I recently tried for the most delicious Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies I have ever tasted (I’m thinking it’s the cup of BUTTER that makes them so delish) but first I have to share some cute kid things. For those who don’t care… hang tight…. the recipe is coming. There are some who read this who do care about the cute things my kids do and say and since I care, and I’m the author, read quick or skip ahead.

Little Miss is totally into dancing. She moves the furniture to the side and spins and hops and does what she calls her “signature move” which involves a skip around the room with swinging arms to the latest fun top 40 kid friendly stuff I can find. Here’s the thing, Little Miss loves to dance but has refused to take one step into a real dance class. At first her excuse was her hatred for tights – now it’s her desire to have no structure in her dancing. As she says, “Mom, the music comes on and I have no decision on how my body moves. It just does its own thing.” Her own thing is a joy to watch.

Buddy’s vocabulary is blooming. I LOVE what he calls things. We were decorating our Christmas tree last week. He really liked putting up these little red glass ball ornaments we have and was adamant that no one else should hang even one. “Mom, I’m in charge of the red Christmas dots, OK? I’ll do them all.” DOTS – isn’t that great? The other phrase he came up with that I think should go mainstream is calling snow boarding snow surfing instead. I think that’s just as accurate a description and I will now add that to my repertoire of Buddy phrases.

OK, so here’s the recipe for really delicious Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies. I got this recipe from the back of a package of Gold Medal Unbleached Flour. These cookies are quick to whip up, they are drops so there is no rolling or cutting or slicing, and everyone thought they were yum-o.

Oatmeal-Chocolate Chip Cookies

Fresh from the oven.

Fresh from the oven.

  • 1 1/2 cups packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 egg
  • 2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips

1. Oven 350F. Beat brown sugar, butter, vanilla and egg until well blended. Add oats, flour, baking soda and salt (I pre-mixed these before adding); mix well. Stir in chocolate chips.

2. On ungreased cookie sheets, drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls about 2″ apart.

3. Bake 9-11 minutes until golden brown. Cool slightly then remove to cooling racks.

These are moist and chewy and buttery and hard not to keep getting into. Enjoy!

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hey, thanks for sharing a link for my double chocolate oatmeal sandwiches. They are such a fabulous cookie I couldn’t stop eating them after I made them. I had to whisk them into my freezer really quick so I wouldn’t keep seeing them. Thanks again.

    Reply

  2. Looks yummy! Thank you for sharing my Oatmeal Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies link! 🙂

    Happy Holidays,
    Marti

    Reply

Leave a comment