I Can’t Do It All and Barbeque Chicken Sandwiches

I’ve spent the last 7 years being a housewife. When I write 7 years I’m blown away by how long that sounds, especially because those years seem to have passed as quickly as an inhale and exhale. While I still consider myself mostly a housewife, life is changing here in our household. You see, I’ve kind of gone back to work, sort of, a little, just a drop.

Before I had munchkins I was a teacher. My plan was to go back to work when both the kids were in school full-time. Well, both kids were in school full-time last year and I so did not go back to work. Holy cow was life great! Not only were my kids happy hanging out with their friends all day and the teachers they loved, but my life rocked. I could putter around the house, take yoga classes, read a book, watch trashy TV with no one around to judge, meet friends to do stuff, hike in the woods at my pace, and GROCERY SHOP BY MYSELF! As my man said, “you’ve never been more mellow,” and I agree. I can get pretty uptight when I’m trying to juggle too many balls and last year I think I was juggling maybe two.

Well, this year I threw another ball in the mix. I started substitute teaching. For now, this is the perfect match for me. I get to do a job I love on some days and on other days I can continue to have ME time. I really just started doing this last week. I had one job and it didn’t really affect anything. This week I’ve worked two days (and had to turn down one today because I picked up the sinus crud the teacher I was covering for had). Two days doesn’t sound like much, but when one of those days is grocery day and I take these jobs on the spur of the moment, life gets a little messy. We’re chock full of after school activities, and with me and My Man working all day, and then busy evenings (soccer, swimming, girls scouts, boy scouts, blah, blah, blah) we’re eating canned soup and toast if I miss grocery day. It’s all good – no one complains about wonky dinners – but I realize that I do a bunch of stuff around the house every week that just isn’t getting done. There’s dog hair in the corners, and the kid’s sheets need changed, and there’s a sticky spot on the kitchen floor, and our dump spot is covered with piles…. and I’m OK… but I realize why I stopped working when I had the kids. There’s just no way to do it all. Of course I’m not running this ship on my own, my man is a helper, but when the kids were little they just weren’t much. Sure a toddler can play with the Swiffer and get some of that dog hair up, but sometimes toddler help is no help at all.

Buddy and Little Miss are excited that I’m working again. They understand that if I’m at school all day I won’t get all the chores done I normally do and they are willing to pitch in. Isn’t that cool? We had a big conversation this morning about how if, as a family, we all pitch in on the weekends we can get it all done. And I like that. I like that my family is working as a family and roles are shifting as the dynamics change.

Well, busy families need a quick meal. I found this recipe in some magazine – I have no clue which, this was a ripped out page that’s been sitting in my “to make” file for months. This is a recipe for a Barbecue Chicken sandwich topped with coleslaw that is so good My Man and I had to duke it out who got the leftovers for lunch the next day!

The recipe calls for rotisserie chicken, but I don’t like to use that. Although it is delish I find it too salty for my tastes. To make your own super shredable chicken use my crock pot method – put some boneless chicken in a crock pot (frozen even works) with a little water and salt and pepper to taste. Cook on high for 3 hours and done. The meal itself (minus the chicken cooking time) takes about 20 minutes to make. LOVE that!

Barbecue Chicken Sandwiches

  • 1/2 cup ketchup
  • 2 tbs honey mustard
  • 2 tbs water
  • 3/4 tsp chile powder
  • 3/4 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder (I used dried onions)
  • 1/2 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1/8 tsp kosher salt
  • 3 cups shredded skinless, boneless rotisserie chicken (or cook your own)
  • 3 tbs mayo
  • 2 tbs cider vinegar
  • 1 tsp sugar
  • 3 cups packaged coleslaw
  • 1/3 cup chopped green onion
  • 6 hamburger buns – toasted
  1. Combine first 10 ingredients in a saucepan. Bring to a simmer; cook 10 minutes. Combine sauce and chicken.
  2. Combine may, vinegar and sugar. Add coleslaw and onions, toss.
  3. Place chicken mixture on a bun, top with coleslaw, and devour!

PS I found the coleslaw to be a bit too vinegary on its own – but it’s transformed to perfection when eaten on the sandwich.

Leave a Reply

