My Man is A-Traveling and Chocolate Chip Pancakes

My man is out-of-town. It’s the first of 3 major trips he’ll be making this fall before he embarks on a 6 month adventure/mission/job/departure to parts across the world. I’ve known he was leaving since June and it’s one of those bits of news that is always gnawing away at the back of my head. I can’t shake a sense of disequilibrium – of being off – of not being quite myself. He leaves in December.

My man and I have a good marriage. We love, we argue, we laugh, we love some more, we live, we’re happy – together – and while I know our marriage is strong enough to hold up for a time apart, I just don’t like it very much.

Little Miss and Buddy are working through figuring out how to handle living with just me. Buddy is OK – although has become a bit more baby than I think a six-year-old should be. Little Miss is a mess. She’s very angry sometimes, very sad others, and then back to normal. All this has been with My Man coming home for dinner each night, playing with them on the weekends, and tucking them in at night. I’m pretty nervous when the actual separation occurs that Buddy will start crawling around sucking his thumb and Little Miss will explode into a super nova of 7-year-old girl anxiety.

Then there’s me. I let myself worry about who is going to hold the ladder when I have to clear the gutters of the little maple trees that grow there each spring, but I don’t let myself worry about who’s going to snuggle with me each night. I let myself worry about who is going to be the kid’s reprieve when I’m grumpy or need a mom break, but I don’t let myself worry about who’s going to kiss me on the forehead when I’m feeling blue, or sick, or just because.

This week is the beginning of Little Miss, Buddy and I getting used to it being just us. So far, chocolate chip pancakes for dinner has made it all right.

Mulitgrain Chocolate Chip Pancakes (May 25, 2012 – All You)

  • 1/4 cup oat bran
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 3/4 cup plain whole-milk yogurt
  • 1/4 cup milk (but I had to add an additional 1/2 cup because my batter was too thick)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 TBS vegetable oil
  • 1/3 cup miniature chocolate chips (mini are awesome because there are more chocolate bits per pancake bite)

1. Mix dry ingredients in a big bowl. Whisk wet ingredients in a small bowl and then pour into dry. Mix until combined. Let stand for 10 minutes.

2. Pre-heat a griddle or skillet over medium-high heat. Spray with oil. Cook the pancakes – 2 or 3 minutes on the first side. Flip and 1 minute on the other.

3. Eat with butter and syrup or do as Little Miss does and spray whipped cream on one and eat it like a taco.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Crystal Vazquez on September 16, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    Any time you need a mom break….call me…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Julie on September 16, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    All will be okay..take it one month at a time. Decorate the house once a month, for some type of celebration. Make a count down of some sort til daddy comes. Send daddy fun care packages and most importantly, take care of YOU. Monthly massages are a great way to celebrate your efforts while your man is away, followed by lunch with a friend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

