Making My Kids Laugh

Sometimes I forget that my kids are still little. I made it through the sleepless baby years, the selfish toddler years, the wacky pre-school years and now have two children who I see as so big – that is until  a 10-year-old stands next to them and then I realize that 5 and 7 don’t fall into big kid territory yet. I do remember that they’re just little kids when I do some of the things that  make them laugh. I don’t know about all you other parents, grandparents, caretakers, and teachers out there – but to me if I can get a giggle from one of my two I can’t help but feel a surge of joy. Here are some of the things I do that always cause a laugh.

1. The Cracked Butt.

If either child falls on their butt (and there will be crying, I do not have tough kids, I have melodramatic big tears I’ve never been so hurt in my life kids) I take a quick peek down the back of their pants and I say this, “Oh my gosh, this is worse than I thought, you cracked your butt! There’s a big crack in it!” I’m sure I’ve said this at least 100 times in the last 7 years and it never fails to make all of us giggle to no end.

2. Where Is My Child?

In the mornings when I wake my kids up they are usually snuggled up under their covers. And after my good morning song they often snuggle down deeper and pull the blankets over their heads.  Once this is accomplished, I can no longer find them. Where is Buddy? Where did Little Miss go? And there are giggles and wiggles under the covers. Two days ago Buddy pulled one on me. I woke him up and then went to Little Miss’ room to wake her up. When I got back to his room there was a lump under the covers. ” Where’s Buddy?”  I asked in a sing-song voice, “Where did he go?” And then I went to tickle the lump and it was a PILLOW! Seriously, where did Buddy go? And then I heard laughter, under his bed, and he came out saying, “I got you mom!”

3. Mixed Up Mom

Little Miss needed My Man or I to sing her Twinkle Twinkle Little Star almost every night for most of her life. She doesn’t request a song before bed very often now, but when she does I can always make her laugh by mixing up the words. Baa Baa Yellow Sheep… “No!” she shouts, “It’s not yellow sheep” and she grins and laughs. And I clear my throat and try again. Baa Baa Black Sheep (she nods in a way that says, “you got it mom”) Have You Any Drool? And the fits of laughter continue.

4. Pants Too High

This isn’t something that I do to them, but they do to me and I laugh every time. They do it on purpose to get me  to giggle. It’s especially great with PJ’s because of the stretchy elastic waist. They pull their pants up practically to their armpits and it just cracks me up! I know it’s a silly thing – and really their pants are pretty much right where I wore mine naturally when I was a kid in the 80’s – but it just looks so silly and they look so pleased with themselves for making me laugh that it’s always a fun time.

I know eye rolls and total parent embarrassment are a short journey down our road together, but I try not to think about that. I just try to think about new ways to make my kiddos laugh.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lynette on June 6, 2012 at 10:26 am

    Some people say children sleeping is their preferred state, mine has always been laughter. It means they are happy and know they are loved. Couldn’t ask for more!

    Reply

  2. I LOVE the booty crack. I am stealing it and then giving you the credit!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

