I Feel Bad About My Neck – Book Review

Cover of "I Feel Bad About My Neck"

Cover of I Feel Bad About My Neck

I picked up the book “I Feel Bad About My Neck and Other Thoughts on Being a Woman” by Nora Ephron at a used book sale for $1. I remember seeing her plugging it years ago on all the talk shows and I thought – hey, maybe I’d like to read that book. Well, I’m glad I only paid $1 for the book because there was nothing much that I enjoyed about it.

Each chapter is a whiney diatribe about something that bugs Ms. Ephron. These things are: getting older is no good, it takes a lot of maintenance when you get older, it’s a pain to find affordable good apartments in New York City, and other perils of being an aging woman with a life that takes place in New York. Her life is nothing like mine. Maybe that’s why I didn’t get into it?  Nora Ephron is also approximately 20 years older than me and the problems she faces (like not being able to read any more without glasses and then never being able to find her glasses) just didn’t mesh with me. At the same time I could see that someone else may really like it. Each chapter felt like a little blog of thoughts – and then I thought about this blog – some of you like it and check it out each time I write something and others of you just stumble upon it, or read it once in a while, or read the first sentence and say, this is crap, and move on.

I did find one part of one chapter that I thought was right on. It was about hair dye. She started off with Gloria Steinem turning forty, someone remarking on how young she looked, and her reply of “This is what forty looks like.” And then the whole idea of 40 is the new 30 and 50 is the new 40 and so on and she concluded that this movement of women being seen as younger than their age has nothing to do with “feminism or better living through exercise. It’s because of hair dye. In the 1950’s only 7 percent of American women dyed their hair…” My guess, is that now, around 50% of women do. I know that if I didn’t have my visits to the salon my hair would be VERY salt-and-pepper and while I admire women who just go with it when their hair turns white, I just can’t do it. I can’t imagine my face with old hair. Maybe someday…

So while the book wasn’t the mort terrible thing I ever read, there is no reason why I would lend it to a friend and I won’t be re-reading it. In fact it will be for sale at an upcoming yard sale I’ll be having for $1.

One response to this post.

  1. Ok… this is so random, but a million years ago, I am not an Oprah fan, but I randomly saw an Oprah show about this book with her and a bunch of other ladies. The whole time I was thinking, “You have a gazillion dollars, if your neck is that big of deal, fix the darn thing!” I have no idea why I remember this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

