The Perils of Grocery Shopping

Example of an American grocery store aisle.

Example of an American grocery store aisle. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Two weeks ago I was doing my grocery shopping. While I was in the meat section I overheard a vendor ask one of the butchers to call for help. A woman had passed out by the milk. Shortly after I heard an announcement: If there is a doctor or a nurse in the store could you please report to the dairy section. I then saw two women running that direction.

This is one of those situations where I want to help badly, but I have no training or expertise so I just pray and hope those that can help do.

When I got to the dairy section there was indeed a woman laying on the ground. One of the running women was with her and the paramedics arrived just at that point. Now here’s the weird thing – I was shopping and lots of other people were too – we were just going along picking up yogurt and milk as this woman lied there shivering and looking pale. It was surreal.

This particular grocery store has the added bonus of baggers. These folks bag up all your food, cart it out to your car and load it up. They work for tips so they really hustle. At this store most of the baggers are elderly Asian folks who speak broken English and bow when I thank them and hand them a few dollars.

On this particular day there was the added excitement of a fire truck parked outside the store because of the woman in the dairy department. My bagger said, “I wonder what happened.” I told her, “there’s a woman who fainted in the dairy department.” She said, “heart attack?” I said, “I don’t know… I don’t think so.” And then she said, “people die here all the time. Every week someone die.” I think my mouth dropped open and I said, “really?” And she said, “yes, every week.”

I guess I never thought about location when it comes to death; it’s not like you get to choose the location of where your body is going to give up. I just hope that when my time comes it’s not in the dairy department of the grocery store.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Anonymous on May 4, 2012 at 11:46 am

    interesting, I always had a fear of my water breaking and creating a giant mess in the grocery.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

