A Reason NOT to Use Your Food Processor: Potato-Crusted Chicken Fingers

Kartoffelchips-1

Kartoffelchips-1 (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Why do you keep thinking things made with potato chips will be good? They’re not.”

That’s the quote My Man threw at me after this dish: Potato-Crusted Chicken Fingers. This was a recipe I decided to try because the photo looked just delish, we all like chicken fingers and potato chips, and I’d also get to use my food processor. And while I followed the recipe to a T these suckers were just blah. The breading that the potato chips made wasn’t anything special – I might as well have smooshed a bunch of chips up on my plate and dipped some cooked chicken in it.  We all ate it but we all did so with the thought, “it’s not that good but I’ll eat it anyway.”

I got this recipe from the October 2011 issue of Cooking Light. Give it a try – maybe it’ll be super good to you!

Potato-Crusted Chicken Fingers (hands on time 40 minutes. Total time 40 minutes. Serves 4)

  • 6 oz baked potato chips
  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup 2% reduced-fat milk – (I used 1%)
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 4 skinless, boneless chicken breast halves, cut into strips – (seeing as I don’t like cutting up chicken I used the pre-cut strips)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3 TBS canola oil, divided

1. Grind chips in a food processor and place in a shallow dish. Place 3/4 cup flour in a shallow dish. Combine the milk and egg in a shallow dish. Sprinkle chicken with salt, dredge in flour. Dip chicken in milk mixture, dredge in ground chips.

2. Heat 1 1/2 TBS oil in a lg skillet over med.-high heat. Add half of chicken, cook 2 minutes on each side or until done. Repeat with remaining oil and chicken.

If you give this a try and LOVE it I’d like to hear your story. As for our family – this recipe is headed to the recycling container.

Leave a Reply

