My Daughter Dressed Me For A Week AGAIN! She’s 7.

This little blog I write hasn’t gone viral. Everyone and their mother isn’t talking about what they read on Moving Girl, but it’s also not completely ignored. On any given day I’ll get some visits and over a year 1000 folks or so will check out what I have to say (even though I think maybe 1/3 of those hits may be my mom). The post I wrote that gets the most hits is this little gem that was published last spring – My 6-Year-Old Dressed Me For a Week.   I ended that story with the possibility of this adventure becoming an annual event. That was something Little Miss did not forget.

Little Miss turned 7 four days ago. We’ve ballooned it up, presented it up, partied it up, caked it up, and the days (yes, days of planning – what treat to take to school, what to wear on said birthday, what special meal to eat that night, birthday party plans, who to invite, what kind of cake to have, birthday party having…. I’m exhausted!) of birthday extravaganza are over. Today we were having a quiet morning of coffee drinking, paper reading, and Lego playing when Little Miss came to me and said, “I’m 7 now. Can I dress you for a week?” She remembered….

Sunday

I had no idea that I’d be embarking on my adventures in dressing when I woke up this morning. I had no time to psych myself up and prepare for interesting combinations of clothes. Two minutes after asking me if she could dress me we were in my closet. I’ve already noticed a difference from age 6 to 7. This year, so far, Little Miss is way more decisive. She entered my closet, pulled down a purple long-sleeve shirt, told me which jeans to wear and was heading out the door. “Wait… what about shoes?” “Oh, yeah,” she said and quickly pulled out a pair of black flats. “What socks should I wear?” Black socks with polka dots were swiftly chosen followed by some dangly greenish-yellow earrings. All this was done in just a few minutes. Everything she chose today is something that I would put together. So far so good….

Monday

I’ve tried to like skinny jeans. I own a few pairs and with just the right length of loose-fitting top I feel OK in them… but for the most part I just feel a little sausagey. They are usually the jeans I go to when all my other jeans are dirty. I’m a pear shape and there is just something not so pretty with having that shape outlined tightly. I see plenty of other women look amazing in them… but I just feel a little ugg when I put them on. So, of course today I’m wearing them.

I tend to be a 50% tight clothes kind of woman. If my top is form-fitting, my bottoms will be looser and vice versa. Today my outfit is 100% tight-ish and I feel a little self-conscious. Little Miss Picked out a very cute outfit – that is if it were a two dimensional photo on Pinterest. She picked out a nautical striped blue and off-white tee matched with a pair of dark blue skinny jeans. She chose white dangly beaded earings as my accessory. Looks good, I thought, even if it is all a little tight. “I still need shoes,” I told her then left the room. Later I returned to my room to see a pair of tiny white socks with multi-colored polka dots all over them complete with a little pom pom on the heel (they were a gift and perfect to wear around the house – they remind me of my childhood). These socks were paired with a pair of black shoes with a little ballerina bow and kitten heels. MEOW!

I had a yoga class in the morning and Little Miss told me I could pick out my own clothes for that. After yoga I put on my chosen outfit and had to head to the kids’ school to pick them up. Problem #1 –  I usually walk to the school – that was not going to happen in my shoes. I had to drive and felt like a gas waster and lazy girl. Problem #2 – I’m wearing heels with bright polka dot socks. I’m thinking I could pull this look off if I was 21 but 41 is pushing it. In the pick up area I tried to play it cool but I noticed a number of folks giving me a head to toe once over with a pause on my foot wear. The only thing I could think of is – yeah you wish you were this cool. SUCK IT. I’m doing something fun with my girl.

At this point I’m going to apologize for slightly blurry photos – My Man is out-of-town this week so Little Miss is my main photographer. My hair also tends to be wonky because she has me push it behind my ears to show off my earrings. I’m also not used to seeing myself in glasses but LASIK surgery is just around the bend and my eyes are preparing for it by leaving my contacts behind.

Tuesday

Today I’m wearing the sweater I like to wear with my skinny jeans. It’s long and loose and is a nice contrast to tight pants. But, I am not wearing skinny jeans today, I am instead wearing a dark denim boot-cut pair (I really own a lot of jeans) with a striped black and grey shirt and the long sweater. All-in-all not the worst outfit ever – although I think the sweater with the loose-ish jeans makes the whole thing look a little bulky. Little Miss chose pink dangly earrings, black socks with pink flowers,  my watch (which I’ve missed the last couple days – I kept looking at my empty wrist), and a pair of copper-colored ballet flats. The shoes used to be one of my favorite pair – but the toes are all scuffed and so they haven’t seen the light of day all this winter. Today they did and those scuffed toes either need to be fixed up or the shoes need to be sent on their way. They just look tired. I’m thinking they won’t make it to winter 2013.

I was all dressed in my outfit (sans shoes) and ready to face the day when squish. What did I just step in? Blech – cat puke. “Little Miss,” could you get me a new pair of socks? I can’t wear these.” She ran up to my room and returned with a pair of multi-colored striped socks. “Umm, are you sure those go with this outfit,” I asked. And she answered, “Yes! The stripes match your shirt,” and I just had to smile. When Little Miss was 3 she had a go-to outfit of stripes everywhere.

Wednesday

On Tuesday night I told Little Miss this, “tomorrow I will be going to the grocery store and doing chores around the house.” “Got it,” she answered. Got it actually means that she gets it in a totally different way than I would. Today I am wearing a cute little cotton/casual dark grey dress with black tights. This is matched with my big watch, a pair of dangly earrings that look like leaves, a sterling silver heart necklace that My Man gifted me with right before the birth of Little Miss, and 3 inch black patent leather sling back heels. When I saw this get up I did a sigh.

Today I was wearing fancy heels to the Commissary. If any of you have ever shopped at the grocery store on a military base or post or fort or whatever yours is called,  you know that it is the most unglamorous shopping experience EVER. There are some grocery stores that when you walk in you hear angels sing – Wegmans, for example, is just beautiful, Whole Foods makes you feel healthy just by being next to all that whole grain organic goodness, and Trader Joe’s is the hippest of grocery shopping. The Commissary is the old lady wearing an Alfred Dunner pants suit of grocery stores. I LOVE going to the Commissary for its low prices, but the experience is so far from glamorous that I knew my outfit would stand out.

Today I had a BIG whole cart loaded to the top trip to do. I was the best dressed girl in the store and looked longingly at all the moms in their yoga pants, jeans, sneakers, cute flats and the retirees in their sensible shoes. And then I got into it. I pushed that cart and ignored the pain in my toes and pictured myself in one of those fashion shoots you’d see in Vogue where the girl is wearing something very fashionable in the most unlikely of places and I’d pause smiling wildly and look over my shoulder with a heel kicked up. I also remembered a photo I saw on Pinterest (which of course I can’t re-find now) that had some celebrity couple schelping their baby somewhere and the woman was all decked out with killer heels and the caption said “Mundane Task + High Heels = Celebrity”. I put on my fancy walk and worked those grocery store aisles. Then I went home and took those damn shoes off!

Thursday

I had 2 people tell me I looked really nice before 9AM and neither of them was a family member! I’m wondering if I normally don’t look really nice? Today’s outfit is another dress that happens to be very similar to yesterday’s (am I in a shopping rut?) This one is also grey but made of a wool blend – so it’s a sweater dress – but really the style is just like the dress I wore yesterday. This dress was worn with patterned tights, white dangly beaded earrings, and black flats. Luckily Little Miss likes to walk to school and chose my footwear so we could do just that.  She also had me change my purse to a “cooler” one. I’m OK with that, I like the purse she wanted me to use, but it’s just a little too small to hold all my mom gear. If a kid gets a cut in my vicinity I will NOT be the one to pull out the band aid and a little tube of Neosporin.

I liked today’s outfit. It was cute and comfortable. The only change I would make is no to the patterned tights – the pattern matched the pattern in the top of the dress and I’m just not a matchy matchy person.

Friday

I’m wearing the same jeans today that I wore on Tuesday. They are not my favorite pair, but I’m thinking they are Little Miss’ favorite pair. These are matched with a green button down patterned shirt with a black tank top underneath (in case the buttons come open a little), a multi-colored blue lotus flower patterned belt, a pair of purple socks and the same copper-colored ballet flats I wore on Tuesday. I thought this outfit was kind of cute. The shirt and pants looked fine together and if the shoes weren’t so worn out they’d be perfect. My only qualms about this get-up was the crazy mix of pattern with the shirt and belt (which didn’t matter too much because the shirt covered the belt) and the purple socks. I was just too much of a rainbow.

Saturday

I was sure today I was going to be decked out in a Fancy Nancy getup. For months Little Miss and I were planning this day. It was our girls only trip to the mall to go to Claire’s and also to have lunch at The American Girl Store. I saw myself bedazzled, and bejewled, and so glamerous that all those around me would have to wear sunglasses. Instead, Little Miss completely surprised me! I was completely casual in jeans, a grey sweater, white beaded dangly earrings, black flats and my only flash – black socks with polka dots. I guess she wanted me to be comfortable? Be able to walk all over the mall? Then I took a good look at Little Miss. Yeah, we kind of matched. Jeans, plain shirt, etc. She said she wanted to wear her favorite jeans and wanted me to look like her. Cute, huh?

This was a fun week! Little Miss has definitely toned down her accessory overload from last year and other than some crazy footwear was able to put together some outfits that were totally fine. What I learned is that my little girl rocks, has a good sense of style, and that Spanx tights really do make you look thinner. The last little tid bit I learned from a number of people asking me if I lost weight on Thursday. No, I did not, but my tights are really snug! I probably won’t bring up doing this again when Little Miss turns 8… I have a feeling she’ll be on it and ready to roll. Maybe it’s time to give Buddy a shot?

2 responses to this post.

  1. […] her pick my clothes out for a week. The first time I did this she was 6 and we repeated the fun at age 7. Shortly after both adventures Buddy has said he’s wanted to do the same thing. I always […]

    Reply

  2. […] Miss is picking out many of the same clothes I wore last year when I let my 7-year-old dress me for a week.  I swear I’ve bought new clothes in the past […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

