Produce Delivered To My Door

Kale salad

Image by Salim Virji via Flickr

I like to eat. I also like to be healthy and while I don’t always make healthy choices, I’d say 75% of the time I make sure that what I put into my body will do it good. My dad always had a garden in our back yard. It was full of fresh produce and all summer every meal would be supplemented from that. I also grew up in a rural enough area that there were farm stands all over (shout out to being a farm stand girl for my summer job!) so fresh produce was easy to come by. And, when we stay put in a place long enough, I’ll have a little garden of my own. This year we moved in the middle of summer so there was no planting on my part and I missed having fresh produce right in my back yard.

Over the past several years it has become trendy to join a farm co-op and have a produce box made up of either local or organic fruits and veggies delivered to your door. I LOVE this idea, but I found it was pretty pricey and didn’t quite fit into my budget. But then Groupon came along with a sweet deal. I got to check out a local co-op called Arganica for a month.

After using this service I decided I’m not really a fan of the co-op. While it was fun to see what was in my box each week, I found that I could just as easily get the local produce from the grocery store and it would cost less. And, the other locally sourced products that were offered cost more than I’d like to spend on a weekly basis. The one thing I really did like was that it did forced me to eat veggies I normally don’t buy (parsnips anyone?) because I didn’t want any of it to go to waste. But while I’m a big fan of the root vegetable family, the rest of my family is not, so there were some grumbly supper times.

There was one new taste sensation that we all agreed was delish – and that was kale. I had heard tale of kale, and had friends rave about making kale chips, but I hadn’t made the purchase plunge. Each week a little bundle of kale would come in my box and I’d follow this recipe to make the most delicious snack. The original recipe comes from allrecipes.com but I tweaked it to make it more to my liking.

Kale Chips

Heat oven to 350 F. Line baking sheet (or two) with parchment paper.

Wash and dry your kale. Cut off the tough stems and rip up your leaves into bite size pieces. Lay them in a single layer on the baking sheet. Spray with olive oil (I have a Misto spray bottle) and sprinkle with a little salt.

Bake for about 10-15 minutes until the edges are browned .

Eat it up! You’ll find it has the crispy consistency of a chip and is so good you’ll crave more.

Leave a Reply

