Gobbled It Up

Yet again it was another night of yumminess at the dinner table. It was a simple meal – the entire thing took less than 30 minutes to prepare – and when it was over I looked over at my daughter and said  to her, “I gobbled instead of savoring didn’t I?”  And she nodded in agreement.

Here’s the menu:

steaks on the grill (send husband out to do that), sautéed mushrooms (in butter) with garlic, sliced strawberries with a touch of sugar (they were a bit sour) and then here’s the new thing I tried – oven roasted cauliflower with garlic, olive oil and lemon juice.

The cauliflower was a last-minute decision. My plan was to serve the meal with broccoli but the broccoli at the grocery store looked skanky so I got the cauliflower instead. I usually just steam it and serve it with homemade cheese sauce but I felt in a roasting mood so I googled and this recipe is what I found. It’s an Emeril recipe, was super easy, and had a flavor that was new to me. I chowed, my man chowed, my girl chowed, my boy took a taste.

Emeril Lagasse  Picture of Oven-Roasted Cauliflower with Garlic, Olive Oil and Lemon Juice Recipe

Here’s how you make it:

Heat up your oven to 500 F. Cut up a head of cauliflower into florets and place them in a baking dish. Drizzle 1/4 cup olive oil, 1 TBS (2 big cloves) sliced garlic, juice from one lemon, 1/2 tsp salt (the recipe called for 1 tsp – I cut it back –  next time I may be crazy and add no salt!), and fresh ground pepper to taste (the recipe called for 1/2 tsp – I just did a few turns). Bake for 15 minutes giving it a stir every once in a while. When it comes out sprinkle it with parmesan (I used the staple jar of green stuff but fresh would probably be better) and chopped chives.

I’m on a constant search for easy, delish, fresh sides and this one has made the cut. It will definitely be in my repeat repertoire!

Leave a Reply

