Perfect Meal

 

We’ve all done it. We’ve all sat down to a meal where EVERY bite is a little bit of happiness. I made one of those meals recently. I didn’t do anything elaborate, none if it was difficult to prepare, but each bite made me smile a bit because it all tasted so good!

The menu consisted of two things: Curried chicken salad sandwiches and guacamole with chips. Did my family have as many yummy noises coming out of their mouths as mine? Yes and no. Chicken salad – Alice LOVED it, Miles took a bite, and Jeff had no complaints. Everyone liked the flat bread I used to make the sandwiches and we all love guacamole, so that’s always a hit.

Curried turkey pita

Curried Chicken Salad

This is a recipe that I got from the November 2010 issue of Real Simple. The original recipe called for turkey – it was written with the what do I do with all my turkey leftovers in mind. I switched it up by using chicken. Each Sunday I sit down and figure out a menu for the week. I list what we’re going to eat for supper each night (breakfast and lunch are a free-for-all) and I make my grocery list at the same time. If any recipe calls for cooked chicken one of my favorite ways to make it is in the crock pot. I throw in some chicken breasts (they don’t even have to be thawed), season with salt and pepper, and pour in a little water. I put it on high and in 3 hours you have the moistest fall apart chicken you can imagine. I’ll do this the day I bring the chicken home from the grocery store – and if I make more than I need I freeze it for the future.

The chicken salad will take you 10 minutes to make and is enough for two big sandwiches. Combine 1/4 cup mayo, 1 tsp. curry powder, and 1/8 tsp. each salt and pepper. Mix in 2 cups shredded cooked chicken, 1/2 cup halved grapes, 2 sliced celery stalks, and 1 sliced scallion.  You can make it ahead and refrigerate it for up to a day. We ate it on flat bread.

Anyone who eats guacamole often (weekly? bi-weekly? tri-weekly?) has their own go-to quick recipe. Mine is this – peel and pit a ripe avocado and put it in a bowl. Add 1 TBS diced sweet onion. Add 1 minced clove of garlic or sprinkle all over with garlic powder. Sprinkle all over with cumin. Smoosh up and serve. If you have a lemon you can give it a little squeeze of fresh lemon juice if you’d like. Usually our guacamole is served with plain old tortilla chips. The night of the perfect meal we happened to have a bag of Doritos and that’s what we dipped and that taste combination is extra delish.

I’m pretty sure that meal will be a repeat – or at least the sandwiches will be . Even now, weeks later, I get a little Mona Lisa smile when I think about how happy my taste buds were that night.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Trying those sandwiches! Yum! Don’t you love it when a new meal is a success…

    Reply

  2. Posted by Julie Taylor on March 6, 2011 at 12:51 pm

    Cool– I’m going to do the crockpot chicken thing.. never knew and would make life so much easier.. the guacamole sounds yummy! thanks for sharing!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

