Just Try It

My kids are picky eaters – sort of. Actually, I don’t really think of them as picky until I think about what they do eat. They will both try anything but really only like those things that most 4 and 5 year olds do (except mac and cheese… neither of them likes that). I cook a variety of meals. I have my standard go-to things but most weeks I bust out at least 2 new recipes. I like to cook, and I like to eat, and I get sick of the same old stuff over and over again… but 4 and 5 year olds LOVE the same old stuff. If I made bratwurst and spaghetti every day – maybe alternating throughout the week – the munchkins would never tire of it. So, there are many a meal I make where this sentence pops out, “you have to try it, you don’t have to like it, but if you do like it then eat it all up.” And then after the trial of all the things on their plates with some getting eaten and others not, if they are still hungry because the food I made was just beyond the gag factor then they can have a bowl of cereal. Un-junky cereal. Most days I do OK and even if the entire meal isn’t scarfed down a side or two is.

We’ve started a rating system for new recipes. A = Super yum, it’s a keeper, B = That was good but if it’s never made again it’ll be no big deal, C = Average, it’s OK, nice try, D = I don’t like it but I’ll eat it and F = YUCK, burn the recipe, never again. If I’m making a recipe from an actual cook book then these ratings are written by the recipe as well as any notes about how I doctored it (I have a very hard time doing exactly what is written in any recipe).

The school that my Man is going to has a fundraiser every year. All the spouses submit recipes to create a cook book and the money raised helps international students in their transition the following school year. I’ve been going through this cook book – which is a lot of fun because the recipes (I’m assuming) are all favorites of one family or another. And, there are (I think) around 80 countries represented in the school so many of the recipes were submitted from the spouses of these students. I get to see what favorite foods are from all over the world!

Last week I made a recipe from this book called Artichoke Chicken Bake. It was super easy and while the kids did not like it, Jeff and I gave it a big ole A. Those of you who’ve had Amy’s Artichoke Dip (and liked it) are going to have to try this. It basically tastes like that dip on chicken. I had to take two Lactaids to eat it but it was totally worth it.

Artichoke Chicken Bake

1 15 oz. can artichoke hearts, drained and chopped

 3/4 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 cup mayo

1/2 cup sour cream

1 clove minced garlic

1/4 tsp. pepper

4 skinless, boneless chicken breasts

Mix artichoke hearts, parmesan cheese, mayo, sour cream, garlic and pepper. Place chicken in a greased baking dish and cover evenly with the artichoke mixture. Bake at 375F for 30 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.

Enjoy and if you try it, and like it, and eat it all up then let me know!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lainee on January 24, 2011 at 5:11 pm

    I’m trying this tonight!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Lainee on January 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm

    LOVED IT!!!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lainee on January 24, 2011 at 7:33 pm

    Going to post it on my page if you don’t mind- also I started wondering- I have this urge to turn everything into a casserole- what would happen if I cubed the chicken and mixed all the ingredients with it and filled the baking dish then sprinkled with some bread crumbs and extra parm cheese then baked?? I’ll let you know if we try that!

    Reply

    • That sounds good – definitely let me know. I was thinking maybe it needed a little kick – I may add some green chiles next time I make it. Experimenting with food…

      Reply

  4. […] already spoken of my love of trying new recipes and my recent new found love of getting cookbooks from the library… well, a few weeks back I […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

