My Go-To Meatballs

One of the things I really enjoy about being a housewife or stay-at-home mom or unemployed-by-choice or slacker is meal planning. Everyone has a chore that they just dread and when your full-time job is running a household there are many of these such chores you just have to suck up and do. For example, I’m happy to load the dishwasher but I despise emptying it. I’ll wash laundry and fold it, but putting it away takes me forever (or not at all – my Man’s clothes just get put on his side of the bed).When I was teaching, my Man pitched in when it came to cooking (he cooks a mean Hamburger Helper), but now that my full-time job is keeping my household running smoothly I’m OK doing most (all) of the cooking.

Each Sunday I sit down with a little notebook and I plan my following week. I list the days of the week and write by each what we’ll be eating for dinner that night. I also list our weekly activities, chores that just HAVE to be done, and any errands I’d like to run. When it comes to the meal planning part I usually enlist the help of my family. It goes like this: “Hey guys, what’re you hungry for?” My Man answers, “meatloaf, chili, beef stew, steak, burgers (all the manly foods)”, Buddy answers, “hot dogs” and Little Miss says, “spaghetti and meatballs”. My Man’s requests get a rotation as do the kids ( hotdogs and spaghetti and meatballs can not be eaten every week – I can handle it every other which is pretty much what happens). Then the rest of the week I use to make things I’m craving or to try new recipes. After the planning I make my grocery list, match my coupons, get my bags ready and Monday (or Tuesday, or Wednesday) I head to the store. Grocery shopping is another thing that so many people hate that I just love. To me it’s guilt-free shopping – it’s shopping I just HAVE to do!

OK, so on to the meatballs. We eat many a meatball due to Little Miss’s constant request to eat them and while I like to eat this meal too I did not have a great meatball or sauce recipe. Well, thanks to Real Simple I finally found a meatball recipe. Back in May 2010 there was an article that highlighted a few women and their favorite recipes that had been passed on to them by their moms. One of the recipes was for spaghetti and meatballs. Now,  the sauce I did not like, but the meatballs are now my go-to recipe. Spaghetti With Turkey MeatballsThey are a perfect texture, not too salty, and made from turkey so you can call them healthy. EVERYONE eats them and that is a bonus. I’ve yet to find a good sauce – I’m still on the search for that – but add these meatballs to a jar of Paul Newman’s Marinara and call it good.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by megan gegwich on October 24, 2010 at 3:15 am

    I have a marinara recipe I will teach you at Christmas. It is awesome and from an authentic Italiano restaurant (secret recipe). Geoff seriously doubted I could make a homemade marinara…but he loves it. Megan

    Reply

    • Megan – Yay! And Alice will be so happy to have spaghetti to eat! I do a little happy dance when I think of all of us together at Christmas! Amy

      Reply

Leave a Reply

