Real Simple

I love magazines. Those glossy pages. Beautiful photos. Ads for new products. Little articles that are quick and easy to read when I have a little alone time (usually in a small room with a fan going). My mother-in-law gifted me with a subscription to  Real Simple over a year ago (perfect gift, by the way). There is something refreshing about looking at this magazine filled with beautiful images. I love going through the pages and looking at the before and after shots of crazy messy rooms, reading about new uses for ice-cube trays, finding out how I could clean my outdoor grill in 15 minutes (and thinking in my head, seriously? Cleaning an outdoor grill? Isn’t the whole outdoor cooking thing supposed to be a bit like camping and shouldn’t that be a bit on the dirty side?) and my favorite section… easy weeknight dinners. There are usually 5 recipes for creating wonderful looking food that is quick and easy. The photos of these meals inspire me to make something more than frozen ravioli with jarred sauce. Most often though, I don’t make them because there usually is a component of something like a side of whole wheat bulgar cous cous with maple walnut chutney and I think to myself – really? That’s quick and easy? and do I really want to eat that? But listen to this one: Grilled Shrimp with Lemony Potato Salad. Doesn’t that just sound like perfection?

grilled shrimp with lemony potato salad

And doesn’t it look like perfection? So I made it.

Those of you who’ve known me for a VERY long time know I was a vegetarian for quite a while. I had no real meat is murder kind of vibe to my vegetarianism. I just had a gaggy reaction to cutting up chicken one night and that was it. No meat for five years. Corned Beef brought be back … but that’s another story. It took me a LONG time to get back into the swing of cooking with meat. My man used to cut up chicken for recipes when we first got together, but now I can do it even if I am wearing a very disgusted look on my face. Well, I’ve never bought shrimp that wasn’t pre-cooked. The whole slimy iridescent-ness of them (not to mention my fear of contaminating my kitchen with food poisoning inducing germs) kept me away. But for grilled shrimp with lemony potato salad I decided to be brave and give it a try. There was as little personal handling of raw shrimp as possible and lots of hand washing and disinfecting but I got moving.  I followed the directions to a T (except I added less salt then they recommended because RS always salts things up WAY more then I like) and I sautéed the asparagus and shrimp inside instead of grilling (the movers jiggled our old gas grill a little too much and we have a loose connection – we’re waiting to claim the damage and there was NO WAY I was going to light charcoal on our Weber wedding grill and stand outside when it is 100 degrees when the entire shrimp grilling process takes 2 to 4 minutes). What I did create totally, 100%, looked like the photo and was just as delish. Little Buddy, who usually turns up his nose at shrimp ate two of them (seriously, that’s 2 more than he’s EVER eaten) and Little Miss ate four (that’s major quantities – and they were totally Old Bay spicy). But the best was my Man’s super colossal pile of shrimp tails. He chowed and told me that the shrimp recipe was a keeper. After the meal I was still sitting with the kids as they ate their last bites of food and my Man had moved into the kitchen to start cleaning up. He was smacking his lips and said, “I have Old Bay and lemon breath” and then came toward me rather quickly and said, “smell it” and commenced to blow a big breath into my face while I made the cutting up chicken face and said “no thanks and ewww and gross” and then he said, “doesn’t it smell almost as good as eating the shrimp itself?” Enough said.

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sam on August 2, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Sounds yummy. I think I will have to go find that recipe.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Amanda on August 2, 2010 at 11:23 am

    Mmmm! I could have written the part about the chicken food prep!!! I STILL canno deal w/anything on a bone…if I want to work w/or eat poultry off a bone, Frank has to do all the work for me!
    Gonna have to check out that recipe!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jennifer on August 2, 2010 at 10:56 pm

    Ewww to the shrimp breath! Yikes!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

