Whole New World

Whole New World…

I enjoy moving. The adventure of it all, the exploration, the landscape, the language… but I also really, really, like routine. I like to live in a somewhat organized state. Not in a pile. And that’s what I’m living in now. One BIG pile. Piles of papers, piles of toys to put away, piles of art supplies to place on shelves, piles of knick knacks to artfully place, and piles of pictures to hang on the walls. The piles are getting to me! I’m in that state of disorganization where you begin one project but get curtailed to another… you know… the whole if you give a mouse a cookie thing… so that nothing is really getting done at all.

This morning LIttle Miss and Buddy were playing “clean” with spray bottles and rags. I really like this game because my tile is usually pretty sparkly when they’re done. This afternoon the neighbor kids came over to play. They’re a little older than my kiddos but seemed to be having fun checking out the old school FP and digging through the Legos. Well, Buddy asked them if they wanted to play clean. Luckily Buddy still sounds a bit like Mushmouth and they didn’t

understand. Who wants to play clean (other than me)? I diverted them with PlayStation. What’s cooler than video games? When the video game playing was done, and the outside sweat-fest was over,  they decided to “surprise” me. Little Miss, Buddy, and the two neighbor kids came to me all grins and giddiness and told me not to come in Little Miss’s room… that they had a surprise. I’m thinking cool tea party set up, interesting art, new use for broken beaded necklaces… but what I got was way better than that. Those four little kids decided to overtake the toy bomb that was Little Miss’s room and create organized perfection! I could see the carpet – even in the closet. I almost cried and the smiles on those four faces and how proud they were was just precious. We had a mandatory group hug! When their mom came over to get them I dragged her toLittle Miss’s room and said you have to see what your kids did! And her answer was, did they clean (with a whole this is not new for my children kind of vibe).

When you’re new to town it is exciting. I don’t know what lies around the next corner… but it’s also sad. I always have to leave a pretty nice life to pick up and start over. The surprise I found in Little Miss’s room wasn’t just a picked up pile but really a start of new friendships. Seriously! Neighbor kids that clean! Just a little bit of heaven in Alabama.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

  2. Glad you are blogging! Precious story. You will be in your grove in no time. You are just that kind of girl!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Sam on July 31, 2010 at 7:52 pm

    Awesome post!

    Reply

  4. Posted by Jennifer on August 1, 2010 at 9:20 pm

    Amy, I knew you’d make new friends really fast! That’s good to hear.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

